Injured/arthritic thumbs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hickorynash

Reaction score
The bad news is that my left thumb joint is bone on bone with no cushion in between. Still would like to operate a saw safely and without too much pain. Rather than reinvent the wheel I'm wondering what adaptations folks have made to hold the saw without using their left thumb. Was thinking of a molded socket I could make a monkey fist in to lock my hand to the grip. Anyone made or seen any adaptive grip modifications?

I have been using a Futuro brand wrist brace for several years. It seemed the best available locally, and while not perfect it has helped a lot.
1618604476368.png

Can you keep your thumb over the handle and just grip with 4 fingers? I often do that.

My other thumb I keep by the air filter cover.

Hi there , a friend of mine has arthritic hands both sides , last time I seen him he said he’d been using a tallow based cream I think and he said movement had improved, I’ll get onto him and find out it’s name and get back to you . In saying that , I don’t know how well it may work as you say cushion is gone in the joint , I v e had back problems and was recommended to eat a Avocados regulary as they are fatty rich and apparently they help to plump up the discs in my back. As for a mod to keep it from kicking out of your hand , the only thing I could think of would be to find something akin to a knuckle duster and mount to handle . It may hurt if it kicked up but at least it would stay in your hand. Regards - beardy .