Insurance for new contractor

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

defensiblespace

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I recently was issued a contractor's license in CA for tree service. I am shopping around for liability quotes. I will do some sub contracting since I have to sub out the climbing and I am looking for 1 mil in coverage. Lloyd's of London came in at $975 and some of the other companies were at $2,500 or more. Does anyone else have Lloyd's as their ins carrier? They are considered non admitted in the state of CA. Has anyone made a claim with this company and if so, how well was it handled? Any info would be helpful since I am new to the game. Thanks

I'm not with Lloyd's of London but that price seems reasonable for your area. My carrier charges me a little over $800 here in OK.

Just a little word to the wise. If you incur damage costs pay it out of pocket. A friend filed a claim on his onetime and they dropped him like a hot potato.

If Lloyd's is not acceptable in Cali check out APAC. That's who I have been with for years and they are reasonable.

Last edited:
Insurance