Is something bent here?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
trying to take off the muffler and bolt loosens but can’t get it through the hole, not even close. Seem like something is tweaked. Saw is a 075 and just trying to replace the gasket and check it out. Now seems like it’s going to stay on. Thanks! 5B1E14C0-9A5E-4F7C-B71A-001AEDF389A4.jpeg 3B113ECD-4B99-4C73-9CCE-4F7F72B5F211.jpeg

Looks dry. did you try penetrating oil yet?

Sea foam deep creep is AMAZING stuff.

Let it soak overnight with a few applications

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Is that going to eat away the magnesium so I can get the bolt through?

Since when did simple penetrating oil eat magnesium?

I would think not. But I’m no chainsaw mechanic.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The case on top is bent I think. I can loosen the bolt but not take it all the way out becuase of interference

The camera is aiming straight down over the hole. You can see it’s not lined up

Food for thought, If you end up stripping the Allen hex use a round flat nosed punch and go around the hex straight on to close up the hex then tap the hex wrench into the hex to restore it. I learned this on the dirtbike cases.

You need to take the tail off the saw......and also the fuel tank off to get the rear housing off....
Just bite the bullet. Lol
IMO, those holes are for final tightening during assembly, to allow the muffler to be positioned where the lower tabs line up with the holes in the muffler cover and handle housing.
It's pretty near impossible to change the exhaust flange gasket on the "1111 series" saws without taking the tail handle off first.
Debris will drop inside the exhaust port, not to mention you'll want to shake any rust flakes out of the muffler while you're in there.
It's actually pretty easy though.