It'll burn

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XTROOPER

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have learned quite a bit from this site. I am retired and see my firewood cutting as my new job. I have been cutting for the last 5 years and have learned quite a bit from everyone here. Most really good information, some, not so much. I cut some wood with my 84 year old father in law prior to his passing away. This man was a simple farmer, but was the strongest man I every met, no exceptions. He told me he worked for a feed mill and used to carry one 100lb. bag of feed on EACH shoulder up two stories to empty the feed truck. This guy was amazing. He would bull and jamb on stuff so hard he ruptured both his biceps ! Any way, I would help him cut firewood and would run in to some wood that was punky in the center. I would always ask, "Ray, is this stuff O.K to burn? He would ALWAYS answer "It'll burn."

Ray passed away two years ago and I miss him a great deal. Today I got in to a white Oak that was down. I started bucking it and saw the center was punky and riddled with ants. I thought for a second of not bothering with the wood, but thought of what Ray would say "It'll burn." So I cut the entire tree and brought it home and stacked it. Thanks Ray.

Sounds like a good guy, same thoughts I have of my grandfather worked his whole life down the mines, I sware he had coal dust in his vains. nothing would stop him, until age caught up. But like you I learned so much from him and full intended to pass it on to the next generation to carry the knowledge.

Keep sharing it, we can all learn you and old alike!!

:clap::clap:

FIL hase the same opinion about wood. "It'll make an ash". We get oak with ants. Leave it on the ground for a few days, the ants usually leave. If not, we split it regardless. Store the punky stuff off the ground. It'll dry sufficiently to burn.