Jonsered Rebuild Gone Wrong? HELP!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eggsalads

Reaction score
Hi folks, been lurking on this forum for a while and I need your help.
I did a top end rebuild on a JONSERED CS2150 Turbo after it was run on straight gas and The cylinder walls and piston were scuffed bad!

Now, it doesn't start. I tried putting some mix in the carb and holding the throttle wide open as I pulled. After a couple pulls, I see a little smoke and I'll hear a loud POP noise. I also tried putting some oil in thru the spark plug hole in the hopes of temporarily solving a compression issue-- no luck there it seems.

Obviously, I'm new at all this and I need some help on what my next steps are.
I took the spark plug out and it didn't look bone dry or soaking wet. Put my thumb over the spark plug hole and I felt some "suck". The cylinder appears to be moving smoothly in the head and its travel doesn't make it hit the top.

please help. thank you.

When you say "top end rebuild" did you replace piston, cylinder/jug, and piston rings? If not, what did you do?

Do you have access to a compression tester? If not, when you hold the saw by the recoil rope handle, does it drop or stand fast?

Did you check to see if it has spark?

I would check for spark, and check compression. If both are good, it should be a fuel delivery issue. Take the carb apart and clean, replace the diaphragms if needed. Double check fuel lines and filter.
Not to insult you but did you make sure the ring and piston were not installed backwards? The pop could be the ring hanging in a port if not installed correctly.

bulletpruf,
Yes, I replaced the piston, cylinder and ring.
It drops when I hold the saw by the rope handle.