Log splitter modifications

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

staywarm53

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I use the tractor boom to lift one end of 4 or 5 logs and then I chainsaw them up. Sometimes it's a an inconvience to take off the boom and hook the tractor up to the splitter(pto powered). I have a TSC 18.5 hp lawn mower engine doing nothing. My splitter cylinder is 4.5 in with 2 in rod.
How hard is it to mate the engine up to a new pump(haldex?) and make the splitter independent of the tractor ? Are they hooked up direct drive ? Need adapter plate? I'm relatively new to splitters :) any advice is appreciated.

i'm using an 18 hp briggs engine that came off of my old lawn tractor. it's a vertical shaft engine. i had to make a mounting plate for the pump, then a mounting plate for the engine so that the two shafts meet. i then used a love-joy coupling.

before mounting the engine, i bored a 2" hole in the top plate for the engine shaft. then, i lowered the engine onto the plate and i aligned the shafts by first loosely installing the love joy couplings on each shaft. then, i "eye-balled" them up as close as i could. i then took a piece of sheet metal and wrapped it around the couplings, then used a hose clamp to tighten it. this aligned them perfectly with each other. i tightened the clamp, then marked my engine mount holes.

i guess using a horizontal shaft engine would be much easier...but, i had to use what i had.

Last edited:
Ditto with MGA. What he said :cheers: If it is a horizontal engine, then a bracket can be made (or purchased) to bolt directly to the engine. Then a love-joy is used to couple the engine to the pump. It should be a fairly easy upgrade, but you may have to play with the hose length and the size of the fittings. Should be no biggie.:clap:

jags said: