Welcome to ArboristSite.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the ArboristSite community.

ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


  1. Please see this post Click Here Please ask questions if you have them!! I hope this is going to be great for us all.
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for a Gm 6.0l gas expert

Discussion in 'Reader's Rides' started by Husky gas axe, Sep 8, 2018.

  1. Husky gas axe

    Husky gas axe ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey everyone I have a 2003 chev 2500 HD. Been a great truck. It developed an intermittent starting issue. It always starts, but takes a few times. Code shows to replace cam sensor. I did that. Still the same. I also did the complete fuel system new. Starter is new. The truck always starts but it’s aggravating. Thanks for input.
    6.0l gas, auto, 100 000 miles
    Kyle
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 1Alpha1

    1Alpha1 100% USDA certified abnormality-free.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    16,068
    Likes Received:
    13,916
    Location:
    Depends on who's looking for me.....and why.
    I own a 2002 1500 HD. Bought it used @ 104K miles back in late 2005. It was spotless, inside and out. I now have 150K miles on it, and no issues at all. Same engine as yours.

    Hope that someone will come along and be able to help you. I'm curious as to the problem.
     
  3. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    Did you perform crank/camshaft correlation relearn after installing new cam sensor?

    Steve
     
    Jhenderson likes this.
  4. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    When you said codes says to replace cam sensor, that was after running diag chart, and what code is setting?

    Steve
     
    ChoppyChoppy likes this.
  5. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    What part of the fuel system did you replace, pump assembly, pressure regular. Let me know so I can check it out at the shop at lunch tomorrow if I don't have a lot on my schedule.

    Steve
     
  6. Husky gas axe

    Husky gas axe ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    Fuel pump,regulator and filter got replaced. The dealer did the sensor so I assume the did the correlation.
     
  7. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    Did he diag it as being the sensor or just install and setup?

    Steve
     
  8. Husky gas axe

    Husky gas axe ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    It was diagnosed at that. Installed and when he puts the scanner on, code still apears.
     
  9. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    Sounds like he needed to have dug deeper. If you have the code, I'll put the service manual on my pc.
    Is it P0341?
    Steve
     
  10. Husky gas axe

    Husky gas axe ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry Steve I don’t remember right now. I am taking the truck to another gm tech in the next town over. I will keep you posted. He thinks possible bad wiring to the sensor? He also asked if the timing chain has ever been changed.
     
    s sidewall likes this.
  11. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    That's why I asked did he did deeper. Been seeing a lot of wiring damaged from mice at the dealership lately. Keep us posted.

    Steve
     
  12. alleyyooper

    alleyyooper Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    Michigan
    Some of those codes will remain after a fix for 20 to 40 cranks(attempt to start). Should have had the battery disconnect to clear the code after the sensor was replaced.


    :D Al
     
  13. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    GM scan tool should clear everything, both of mine do.
    If code resets, it's a hard failure.
    Steve
     
  14. alleyyooper

    alleyyooper Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yes the scan tool will clear the code if you tell it to.

    :D Al
     
  15. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    All I use now is my laptop and GM MDI module. Now and then I'll pull out my Tech2.

    Steve
     
  16. Greaser007

    Greaser007 ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Northern California
    Hey Sidewall,
    What do think may be the culprit of why there is intermittent start-up issues ?
    Does the 6.0 liter engine have an "Oil Pressure Sensor Switch" to go bad. My old '95 6.5 turbo diesel had these fail often. The oil-pressure-sensor switch shuts off fuel in the event of a roll-over accident. May this be a possible culprit ?

    I have a 2007 Chevy 2500 4x4 Suburban with the 6.0 engine. I have only owned it for 1-1/2 years, and put 30k on it in that time. I use it to haul my flatbed trailer and 16-foot Stock trailer. ( it is the 'wife's' car ) What I am concerned about with this engine is that I truly believe I need to find someone who can richen-up the fuel-air ratio.
    What I am feeling is a "lean-miss" on a hard long pull up a grade on the expressway. I have taken it to the best shops in my area and both the GMC dealer and GM dealer.
    They all keep telling me "all-is-OK" with my engine, but they are not "Feeling-It", and I wish there was a setting on the ECU where when I set my transmission to Tow-Haul mode, that would also richen the mixture to a richer setting to squelch the lean "stumble" which is aggravating.

    I drove a -95 GMC 2500 4x4 Suburban with 6.5 Turbo Diesel for 15-years and the electronic injection-pump controller (PMD - pump-driver-module) goes bad and causes stumbling and stalling and all kind of codes to be thrown, which in my opinion is "default" stuff which may not identify the "culprit."
    After installing my 3-rd PMD, for 3-years following, my cruise control was intermittent, and I kept getting a check-engine light which I ignored, because I kept getting a Injection Pump code thrown. (there is nothing to rebuilding a pump except new Seals). So I take the rig to the shops, and they want $4k to replace the injection pump. B.S. to that. I finally found that the "Injection-pump" Code being thrown, was because of a Vacuum leak in the waste-gate circuit !
    Why couldn't the mechanics have told me this ? ….. I am just the Consumer with the "deep-pocket"
    The demise of the vehicle is that the freeze plugs began rusting trough at 280k miles, and the shop wanted $4.4k dollars to pull the engine and replace all the freeze plugs. Just before selling the vehicle, I discovered that I had a leaking vacuum line fitting supplying vacuum to the Turbo waste-gate controller. The fitting looked tight, but leaked. After correcting the vacuum leak, the engine ran like brand new, and in a 500-mile journey, the cruise control never missed a beat, and the check-engine light never came on. Simple little things ……. that an engine analyzer won't tell you. This is why a good Diagnostic Techie is hard to find, when you must go beyond the Codes.

    The odometer had 295k on it when I sold it. In the 15-years of ownership I faithfully ran Marvel Mystery oil in with the fuel to assist in lubing the injection-pump, and to also keep the Optical-Sensor clean inside the injection-pump. I never had a valve-cover off of that engine nor did I ever change injectors, or glow-plugs or injection-pump.
    The engine oil consumption never changed in those 15-years either, and consumed 1-quart of oil in 400-miles. A Great work truck !

    I have to laugh at myself when guys tell me how wonderful their fuel mileage is with their Super-Duty diesels. It is a proven fact that is takes "X" amount of fuel to build "X" amount of Horsepower. You just cannot get 19-miles per gallon driving a 7k lb pickup pulling a 9k lb trailer up into the 6k elevation from sea-level. hahaha
     
    s sidewall likes this.
  17. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    6,759
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    If the oil sender goes out, only low oil pressure light will come on, will still run. If fuel pump won't deliver the correct fuel pressure, will cause had starts, if fuel pressure regulator stick open some, it will bleed off fuel pressure. On the tow/haul, all I can tell you is to use 3rd gear. To richen up fuel, aftermarket programmer. Some times you do have to think outside the box, especially when GM gives the wrong information in the service manual and you replace a good part that tests show is bad, cause they list the wrong voltage reading. Been there two weeks ago on a Magna Ride suspension system. Tests showed control module was bad. Replaced and programmed it and still same issue. So I ran jumpers from one side of the car to the other. My test showed be a bad shock, replaced it and fixed the problem. Sent GM a reply about the voltage being listed wrong, waiting on their reply.

    Steve
     

Share This Page