• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Arborsist Site and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member which comes with a decal or just click here to donate.

Want to Buy Looking for do all farm saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryan Workman

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am new to this industry i am a harry home owner type.. I am looking for a saw for around 5-600 that will last, so dont want homeowner line of saws. I am cutting hard woods like oak, walnut, birch etc.. many are over 30". I am not gonna be working 12 days 7 days a week so weight isnt that big of deal for me. I am 6' 225 average and fairly fit... so i can handle a bit of weight.. been carrying heavy rucksacks all over afghanistan is it is no biggie for me.

any way was think of a husky 555 but i see a 044 and a 575 xp on the used boards.. what do you guys think?

thanks in advance

If you're regularly cutting hardwoods over 30", I think the 555 is probably a little small. An 044 is a great saw, strong in a light, compact package. I haven't run a 575 but it looks like it's almost 2 pounds heavier.

The 390xp is a good saw and there are a few for sale here too, many aftermarket parts available... The 044 has rave reviews but I've never actually ran one.

Used Stihl 066 or 660 with dual port muffler will do just fine and cut well in 30" wood, , and its very durable, but in good condition will be right at your top price you want to spend, stihl 044 10mm or Husqvarna 365/372 will be great too, just a little slower, but a popular saw that everyone needs to try at one time in their life, and hold their value. I have all these choices that I could sell if you were interested, but I don't have them posted since they are ones I usually hold onto. If you have carpal tunnel syndrome or sensitive to vibes, go with the Husky.