Lost job looking at arborist work

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I recently left my professional job (office) of 6 years for a different position at a hydraulic shop. Was a big mistake, 6 months later and a roller coaster of anxiety and long hours and they let me go with no notice, mostly because I cost too much and the company didn't grow to need me for what they hired me for.

I have a business degree, a very technical background in repair and diagnostics writing tech manuals for forestry equipment, and 15 years experience running saws and messing with them for firewood and odd jobs, such as clearing, storm removal and whatnot.

The tree service guy/business in question is going to do some work at my girlfriends parents house that requires a boom truck because of fences and other obstacles, and I wanted the logs for firewood. Her dad happened to mention that I wanted the wood and was unemployed. I've done ground work for him before and repaired chainsaws for him before when he did a job at my parents house (to save on the bill). The guy practically came through the phone with interest.

Any way... I had caught wind on Facebook 6 months agonthat his business was for sale as a train-to-own transition. I'm no pro arborist, but being out of work and dreading another cube farm crucible, this really intrigues me twofold, A as a job, and B acquiring the business and making a career. This is a successful business but he also works assembly at a factory and makes benefits etc there.

I very much doubt that I'll be able to make what I'm used to as part of a ground crew, I went through the employment forum and it looks like more than 15 bucks an hour to start out is out of the norm. Unless you have a CDL, climbing skills and real world experience/certs. Also doubtful there are benefits. Could be fun for a little while...