Making rough cut lumber consistent

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lambo3

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Howdy folks, I haven't been to this site in a LONG time, but I have another arborist type question.

So, I'm thinking about getting a mill, and I'm trying to understand what I can really use rough sawn lumber for. Yes, I realize this question is probably annoying asked over and over... I have zero experience milling, btw.

First... how about those lumber prices eh? It is straight up bananas around here. I paid $31 for a sheet for 1/2" ply sheathing the other day. Studs, posts.... everything seems to be crazy too.

So, on to the question... A lot of guys ask if they can stick frame a house with rough cut lumber, and the answer is often "don't do it, buy dimension lumber". I have several projects coming up in which rough sawn will be fine (a shed, large storage building, etc...), but what would be the process be if a guy wanted to make it more "consistent" for stick framing? Could you mill it into slabs, dry it, then mill it into boards once dry? ...or, mill into boards oversized, dry, then mill again? (a solar kiln could be in my project list as well). Is it simply not possible, or just more work than it is worth? Is a planer required? I'd be working with fir and larch mostly where I live. Pine is also available and cheap (lodgepole and p-pine). No shortage of these three and opportunities to get enough here and there for my own projects. Log truck loads are available as well.

Thanks,
Scott