McCulloch Flatback Welch Plugs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bplust

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I'm working on a flatback out of a 380, and I have a few full rebuild kits on hand, so I decided to give it the works. This is my first time doing welch plugs, and I removed them (without damaging the carb), popped the new ones in, hammered them down a bit with a punch, and now I'm trying to determine if they're leaking or not.

If I pull the adjustment needles, shoot some brake cleaner in the holes, and nothing leaks out of the welch plugs, am I in good shape?

I'm working on a flatback out of a 380, and I have a few full rebuild kits on hand, so I decided to give it the works. This is my first time doing welch plugs, and I removed them (without damaging the carb), popped the new ones in, hammered them down a bit with a punch, and now I'm trying to determine if they're leaking or not.

If I pull the adjustment needles, shoot some brake cleaner in the holes, and nothing leaks out of the welch plugs, am I in good shape?

Years ago I had a weekend job in a smallengine/ chainsaw shop that dealt with McCs the mech there always insisted when doing carb rebuilds that welch plugs were coated around the edge with nail varnish to prevent leaks [ His words you don`t want to be doing this twice when you only need to do it once] I always do this on all carbs that I fit new welch plugs to & have never had a problem.

Years ago I had a weekend job in a smallengine/ chainsaw shop that dealt with McCs the mech there always insisted when doing carb rebuilds that welch plugs were coated around the edge with nail varnish to prevent leaks [ His words you don`t want to be doing this twice when you only need to do it once] I always do this on all carbs that I fit new welch plugs to & have never had a problem.