• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Arborsist Site and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member which comes with a decal or just click here to donate.

Want to Buy milling saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AdamQ

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm new to this world and looking for a good milling saw to process some hickory and cedar currently, but looking for a utility saw that will last. I am open to offers and suggestions...

I haven’t settled on a particular make/model yet. I would like 90+cc (bigger is better right?) but don’t want to spend an arm and a leg since I’m just getting into it. Would like to stay under $600 if possible...bottom line is looking for the right deal.

for $600ish you can probly find a older 394/395xp or ms066 but they wont be new if your not scared of 30+yr old saws you my find a 2100/2101xp or if your in north FL you my find a P100 lots of poulan there

Ps all aboard the CAD train :laugh:

In Stihl 056, 076, 070, 066, 660, 661, 084, 088, 880, 090
In Husky 2100, 288, 390, 394, 395, 3120
In Jonsered 2188, 2095, 930 super
All good saws. Spend extra to get a saw with fresh seals, rings etc. OEM cylinder is mandatory.
Some things that are nice but not critical:
Chain Brake
In board sprocket
Big air filter
Interchangeable bars
High output oiler
Half wrap handle
Easily removable dogs

If I had it to do over again, I would probably get a 661.
Good Luck!

thanks, I had looked at that saw, but would prefer OEM and not ported at this time...