Minimum Branch Diameter TIP

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TIP Diameter White Oak

Votes: 0 0.0%

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

JosephLobdell

ArboristSite Lurker
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm still a bit new to rope work within tree tops and get a bit sketched out when using a TIP. The problem, I believe, is due to a lack of knowledge surrounding vectors and maybe even tree anatomy. Any information on either and in-between would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much.

So, closeness of the said diameter to parent connection and both their sizes, angle of branch, branch/bell flare and if codom or other deformity all players here; species of course in the mix too some.
If terminates only to climber and support doesn't need as much strength as if going from climber over support to lower tie off w/ 2x load force potential in that geometry.
i believe non codom, 30 degrees or less slant, wrist wide and at trunk, is a common benchmark.
>>30 degrees would retain 86.6% vertical column strength(cosine) and take on 50% cross axis load(sine)
>>wood is ~30% weaker in tension than compression* >>this slant roughly allows 86% column compression and about a 3rd less side forces....
Follow same parameters for rigging forces on support angle, deformities, distance from trunk etc.
Turn termination on support to a control leg induces more load>>2xPotential reduced by friction.
More vertical elliptical will support more against downward force
>>while equally imperfect round of horizontal elliptical would be weaker on vertical and stronger on horizontal pulls

* compression vs tension strength especially watched on bridges
steel showed as miracle when it came of age: as has ~equal strength in compression and tension!
But originally, we wanted to make longest lasting bridges out of non-malleable stone etc., masonry etc.