moron in the tree

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treeman82

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
i gotta ask you guys something. i have been climbing for the past 4 years now. i am a pretty good climber. not great, but i am good. people who see me work say i am a good climber, if not great. and they are very impressed with how i keep their rooves safe from damage. well. i have a friend who is gettin into this stuff. he is 1 year older than me. last year i brought him to a job. it was in november? or october. he told me that he could chunk the wood out of a tree that was right next to a building. all wood had to be lowered. top was about 50 feet up. and tree was about 2' at the base. he went up about 20 feet. fell flat on his a$$ on the roof of the building. he was fine. but said that he didnt know enough to do the job. before he went up there he said no problem. well i went up. first piece i lowered was 1' in diameter maybe a bit bigger and 10' long. got the stick down to the ground in about 2 hrs. with some breaks for whatever. they had to clean up and what not. anyways. my buddy is now working for a tree care company. they have him climbing. i took him one day so he could make a couple bucks. just easy stuff. kid couldnt even tie a running bowline. took him about 5+ minutes to get it right. the tree company he works for he said had him climb the first day he worked with them. a friend of his, who isnt even as good as he is. which really doesnt say a lot for him. they had him climb the first day too. i dont get it. :alien: are we as arborists really so desparate for climbers that we will endanger the lives of younger people. if they cant tie a knot, or even get up a tree without falling. why, how, could they be of any use up there. when you have a tree over a house, why would you want them up there? i dont get it. could somebody please explain it t