ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


MS180 Adjustable Carb

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by blsnelling, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. Trigger-Time

    Trigger-Time Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    762
    Location:
    U.S.A. :)
    It's kind of a trial by fire............should be able to pick up a used
    muffler cheap, if needed :)
     
  2. ironman_gq

    ironman_gq Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    Iron Range MN
    has anybody noticed how open the inside of these mufflers is. mine looks like one of the modded ones you see with the perforated part of the cage all cut out already from the factory. What I wanna know is why they chose to do it this way with this saw but had to restrict all the other saws so bad. the outlet on the muffler is significantly larger than the one on my 290 as well:dizzy: IT JUST MAKES NO SENSE!!:monkey:
     
  3. Slinky

    Slinky ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    i got one coming from this guy too.
     
  4. SectorB

    SectorB ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    northern illinois
    So I now have my new muffler to be opened up for the 180 mod. The question is after that should I put in a new H Jet .47 or .48 or just spring and buy the Wt-215. Since you guys have put them on what would be your advice on this?
     
  5. ironman_gq

    ironman_gq Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    Iron Range MN
    absolutely go for the 215 it will allow you to fully adjust your carb to the conditions as well as any future mods.
     
  6. blsnelling

    blsnelling Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    53,682
    Likes Received:
    32,728
    Location:
    Franklin, OH
    +1
     
  7. Trigger-Time

    Trigger-Time Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    762
    Location:
    U.S.A. :)
    Hey Brad,

    Buy a 7T Picco drum sprocket...........then report :)

    1123 640 2000.......I think
    :cheers:
     
  8. blsnelling

    blsnelling Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    53,682
    Likes Received:
    32,728
    Location:
    Franklin, OH
    Mine has a 7-pin rim on it already. Got it from Baileys. It pulls it fine. I can tell a difference with the .050 guage and went back to .043.
     
  9. Trigger-Time

    Trigger-Time Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    762
    Location:
    U.S.A. :)
    Thanks :cheers:

    If I didn't use mine for gurb'n out brush, sprouts and small trees
    in rocky ground, I would use the .043 chain.
     
    reachtreeservi likes this.
  10. Trigger-Time

    Trigger-Time Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    762
    Location:
    U.S.A. :)
    For grins, bought a rim drum sprocket kit. Was going to try
    my 12" .043 BC but chain needs 1 more link to fit right.
    14" .050 BC did fit. Hated to, but pulled out new chain
    and give it a try. 90% of the cutting I do with it is 6" and smaller....
    ............I think I like it :)

    [​IMG]
     
  11. blsnelling

    blsnelling Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    53,682
    Likes Received:
    32,728
    Location:
    Franklin, OH
    I put the 16" .050 bar and chain off my 200T and noticed a power loss. I went back to the .043 chain. Report back when you have a chance to get a better feel for it.
     
  12. Slinky

    Slinky ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    so i finally got around to doing this....
    pulled the brass plug, plugged the other hole, switched caps, modded my muffler, adjusted 1 turn out on the high, and 1 1/4 on the low...had to turn the idle up a good ways, but damn this thing cuts nice now...i can put some good weight on it going into a log...it will bog down if you get deep enough, but nothin like it used to....definately worthwhile mod..should have done this a while ago!
     
  13. biggenius29

    biggenius29 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    271
    Location:
    Hamilton Michigan
    I have been looking, but I guess not in the right spots. Where can I find a carb? I tryed E-bay but nothing.
     
  14. blsnelling

    blsnelling Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    53,682
    Likes Received:
    32,728
    Location:
    Franklin, OH
    I bought mine off of eBay.
     
  15. Slinky

    Slinky ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    mine too!
     
  16. blsnelling

    blsnelling Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    53,682
    Likes Received:
    32,728
    Location:
    Franklin, OH
    I'd try a 200T carb.
     
  17. biggenius29

    biggenius29 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    271
    Location:
    Hamilton Michigan
    I havent been able to find one yet.
     
  18. Glen1978

    Glen1978 ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Palestine, Texas
    Bringing this back from the dead. Ok I got a little 170 that is outa warranty and really like the size but would like a little more umph to it. I found a WT215 carb and understand the "yellow and red" hole things. What I dont understand is the intellicarb cover and all that jazz. You guys are saying replace a cover or something another. Can somebody post some pics on what your talking about? I would appreciate it.
     
  19. MuleyJ

    MuleyJ Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    125
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'll try to get into my 170 and post some pics tonight.

    In pic 1 the top cover on the left is an intellicarb cover the one on the right is not. If u can switch the intellicarb cover from the stock carb to the adjustable one. I had problems with this as the tapped holes were slighty different. So I just left the non IC cover on and took some filter material and plugged the port on the back side of the airbox (pics 2 and 3). If you go this route you will have to plug it with a rubber plug or filter material or something to keep debris from entering the carb and crankcase.

    Whoa, those pics are kinda big, in to much of a hurry I guess, sorry.

    [​IMG].

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2010
  20. lectrocrew

    lectrocrew ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    MS USA
    I have a few pics HERE

    Which # post in this thread are you reffering to?
     

Share This Page