MS194T?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steph79

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Just wondering if anybody has used and has an opinion on the MS194T? I was looking at that and a new very old stock Dolmar PS-3410 TH. I don't think Makita / Dolmar still has parts for the 3410 so that's keeping me away from that a little. I have no Stihl experience but obviously very well regarded, can't get hands on that one though to check it out in person.

I have one in my store, they switched out the 193 to a 194... I have not had a chance to fire up one and play with it. Yet.
Nice little saw, well balanced. Looks lighter than the 201T

I have one in my store, they switched out the 193 to a 194... I have not had a chance to fire up one and play with it. Yet.
Would you happen to know why the 150T is pricier than the 194T? Only just noticed that. Is it a premium for the small size/weight or is it more 'pro' build?

I have a 150T, for the rare occasions that I need a climbing saw. Opened up the muffler and it seems to run good. weights next to nothing. Probably more of a pro saw, with a magnesium case. very nicely designed. Expensive tho....

Picked up the Dolmar today, got a bit of a deal. I just like the look and feel of it I guess, and I've been happy with my other Makita stuff. May regret that down the road if I need parts but I'll worry about that later. The 150T does look nice but that moves me into another price bracket which I already did once to get to the Dolmar v. 194T choice.

So, actually pretty easy to start and cuts nice but:

- Smoking a little too much from exhaust
- Was stalling at idle until warmed up a little.
- Would stall with chain brake on, much less likely to stall with brake off. Chain doesn't seem to be moving at idle, maybe just enough though.
- Seems to be what I assume is oil on the muffler.