Need help understanding why people replace their carbs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wmazz

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
My name is bill, and I used to be a pro watercraft mechanic, and
I specialized in float diaphragm carbs, engine tuning and pipes.

I used to manufacture Goped pipes, and did a lot of work with
Zenoah engines, carbs, and I have a brake style dyno for small
gas engines.

I would like to help some other people on a different forum, but
my problem is that there is a big difference between my experience
with Walbro and what people seem to go through to fix their carbs.
It seems like most people just give up, and purchase new carbs?

I am looking for help to understand why people tend to purchase
new Walbro carbs, rather than rebuilding them?

I am also curious if some problems seem to be common with
Chinese Walbro clones?

Thank you

Bill M.

I rebuilt the walbro on my old Husqvarna 50. Made in 1985. It had a bad diaphragm. A new carb like that was over $100. The walbro kit was $12. The Chinese carbs are hit and miss. I have a couple on clone saws I built. I don't think they all have the same problems. I think it's a quality control issue and some have problems and some don't.

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk

It seems like a lot of people do not know how to test the float diaphragm,
but people are telling me that they use a rebuild kit and it does not help.
That leads me to believe that their problem is a leaking carb base, insulator
gasket, a vacuum leak from somewhere else, or pressure/vacuum leak, or
the main jet check valve is bad, and it was not replaced because it is not
part of the rebuild kit?

But I have never needed to replace a main jet check valve before.

Perhaps there is counterfeit Walbro rebuild kits out there?

Bill M.