New chain vs sharpened.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doug M

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So I am very familiar with sharpening knives. I've done it for a long time and I'm good at it. Point being I have a good concept but I realize sharpening saw chains is different. I'm relatively new to it, so I'm in the process of seeking instruction. Several times I have heard people say (now I know this is going to be subjective) that brand new chains are not as good until they have been filed for at least a couple of times. Why might this be? I'm open to hearing opinions but is there an objective reason more than one person has said this? I am pretty confident the people I heard this from are very experienced.

So I am very familiar with sharpening knives. I've done it for a long time and I'm good at it. Point being I have a good concept but I realize sharpening saw chains is different. I'm relatively new to it, so I'm in the process of seeking instruction. Several times I have heard people say (now I know this is going to be subjective) that brand new chains are not as good until they have been filed for at least a couple of times. Why might this be? I'm open to hearing opinions but is there an objective reason more than one person has said this? I am pretty confident the people I heard this from are very experienced.

I never gave much thought to the 'reason why' and I won't pretend to know why.

But i will say this - I've always found that a brand new chain, or a machine sharpened chain, will always cut BETTER after I've hand filed it.

When I install a new chain, I normally only run it about 10 or 15 minutes, just long enough to get some of that first initial stretch out of it.