• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Arborsist Site and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member which comes with a decal or just click here to donate.

Want to Buy New saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

450foreman04

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
hello! I’ve been creeping a while but decided to finally post. I’m looking to buy a new saw. I’m not a pro so no need for those line of saws. Will use it for clearing trails around the hunting land and to cut firewood for maple syrup making. I’d like to get a 45-50 cc saw with an 18” bar. Like to stick to one of the common brands- Jonsered/Redmax, Husqvarna, or Stihl. My in-laws all use Jonsered but I’m flexible. Where do I find the best deal (websites, etc.)? Any specific model a standout in this size range? Any advice will be appreciated!

50cc class 346,550. 60cc class 262, 357,562. 70cc class 365,372,572 80-90cc class 385,390,394,392 big boy class 3120. I like Husqvarna, but any in those classes with sharp chains should work.

I’d like to get something brand new. Price- cheaper is better :) But realistically I’d like $300-$400 range.

Sawfun- I’m not opposed to that, but which saw? Brand? Big box guys probably don’t have any better idea than me. Dealer- I want some “unbiased” opinions... or at least someone not being swayed by money. I figure people on here could help steer me in the right direction. Again, a consumer/homeowner saw is fine.

I would suggest going and handling a Husqvarna, Makita, Echo and Stihl and see what feels the best to you. Any of these will do you well. Once you decide what you want, then look for the best deal. You can find good deals online except for Stihl. They frown upon their saws being sold online.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Is an Echo a brand to consider? Or the Efco?