New to climbing need help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrew Cunningham

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Im new to climbing and im trying to get some tips from experienced climbers. I have a lot to learn and not to much time to learn. Im tryin to fig out how you cut a tree down from the too to bottom. Id like to know what knots and such to use as ive watched many videos but nobody explains how they are doing it. I watched a video of a guy taking down a pine from the top he threw his line up and used some kinda slip knot wth a single rope running down amd was tied into that rope and moved his rope down as he cut i only know the blakes hitch style and that def wouldnt work the way he did the tree. So could you guys please help me out with some tips and links to videos that actually explain stuff and also whats a good climbing boot to use wth spurs that wont break the bank

I think you're talking about SRT (single rope technique) climbing. The two recommendations above are good. August Hunickie and Reg Coates have some great info in their videos too. Also, the material put out by Jerry Baranek looks pretty good. August interviewed Jerry in a two part YouTube video. I watched most of it. They cover what's in his books and DVDs in the interview.

Good luck and stay safe.

99% of the time if u r taking down a pine, u start from the bottom layer and keeps going up until the top is small enough to drop in one piece. I never cut down a pine top down yet.

Yea thats what i meant u take off branches goin up til its small then start topping it down in sections but what kinda knots and stuff would i use to have my rope up there with a slip knot to loosen move down tighten up