New Turner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LTREES

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Have not been around too much and now would like to get into turning wood. Does any one like the Grizzly bench top lathe? I was considering getting the one with 3/4 hp motor on it. I don't need to get the best out there, but want to get lathe the is dependable. And where should I look for chisels? I have no idea what is a good brand name. Do you want a harder metal to stay sharp or a softer metal that sharpens easier?

I've been turning for about 6 years, and trust me, you'll love it. Your post is old, so maybe you bought your lathe and tools already.

Re-post if you're still looking, or send me a pm.

Good luck

Pete

Thanks for posting, I under stand alot of people just look over the newbie due to they r searching other things. I did not buy yet but really want to get a variable speed lathe that is of good quality. I will need tools, tips, and lots of practice. I have a small tree business and need to set up a wood shop for the future (RETIREMENT). thanks for the help and if u have anything to add, please do so.

thanks...LT...

If you go to this site World of Wood Woodworking Forum and you can search and ask questions. There are some fanatical tuners on there, including SBD777 who posts here. He is very knowledgable and has helped me.

For my experience, I have had only one lathe, a Delta Midi-Lathe, and I've had great luck with it. Lots of guys have Jet lathes and they are good too. If you want to turn pens or game calls, you don't need too big a lathe, but if you want to turn bowls, you need to think about buying a bigger and more powerful lathe. Almost all of them are variable speed, but some don't require turning off the machine to change the belts.