New wood splitter, D.O.A.: Typical reseller/manufacture response?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArboristSiteUser

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm new to splitting wood. Grew up and lived for nearly 40 years 'in the city'. Now we're in a rural area up a 2 mile mountain road with more frequent power outages than I'd like, and no neighbors in sight. Our 4th winter heating with wood. First 2 winters, we bought pre-cut wood. Last winter, I got a big maul and set of wedges, got about a cord split... great... now I know how, but don't have time or energy to hand split wood. This year decided to buy a 30+ ton wood splitter.

I decided to purchase from online store. It arrived by freight, crated and undamaged. Assembly was easy enough, filled fluids, and began splitting wood. Then I noticed a fine mist in the air... turns out it's a pinhole leak in a weld on hydraulic cylinder. I called retailer, and they offered a few options:
  1. Send replacement hydraulic cylinder to me for installation; or
  2. Take to welding ship to repair cylinder and they would reimburse; or
  3. Take to authorized repair shop to replace cylinder.
The wood splitter has wheels and can go up to 45MPH on road, but it has no DOT lights or license plate (as required by our state), so it would cost additional time and money getting it setup, or finding another trailer to take it to welding shop or repair.

1. Without discussing merits and risks in purchasing online, are the above options reasonable for a new, out-of-crate, piece of equipment?