Noob advice for 028 AV S rebuild

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ashbugwoody

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
IMG_1222.JPGIMG_1223.JPGIMG_1224.JPGIMG_1228.JPGIMG_1229.JPG
Bought this parts saw, owner said started on choke and stopped, wouldn't restart. I am a noob, 1st chainsaw rebuild, but not first 2 stroke rebuild. Found hole in brittle impulse line (pic). Piston shows wear but I can't catch a nail on any of the marks. Rings are free. No vac. test yet. I am thinking,
New seals - regardless of vac.
New impulse and fuel line
carb rebuild - regardless - Walbro
reuse piston and cylinder with new rings and cylinder clean up - if necessary
new wrist pin bearing?
Also, what is best lube for drive sprocket needle bearing?

What am I missing? Advice that will save me from failure? Also, safe mixture settings and break in technique, assuming things go as planned.

If the piston doesn’t have skirt wear on it I would reuse it. Often if there isnt skirt wear the wrist pin and bearings should be fine. I usually use oem or caber rings and 028 s I usually build without the base gasket if I have enough squish tolerance to do so. Also make sure the plastic 90 on the carb isn’t cracked. Iv tore a couple apart a couple of times trying to figure out lean issues. Now it’s. The first thing I check

If the piston doesn’t have skirt wear on it I would reuse it. Often if there isnt skirt wear the wrist pin and bearings should be fine. I usually use oem or caber rings and 028 s I usually build without the base gasket if I have enough squish tolerance to do so. Also make sure the plastic 90 on the carb isn’t cracked. Iv tore a couple apart a couple of times trying to figure out lean issues. Now it’s. The first thing I check