Noob here. Couple of questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheLaundryMan

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Howdy folks. I read nearly every post in this forum trying to learn as much as possible.
Firstly thanks for all the knowledge! That being said I have some questions.
Everyone here seems against using a dremel to sharpen chains. Is it really that terrible? I feel like a dremel vs hand file is the same thing if you’re gentle with the dremel but I am aware I don’t know all things-hand filing just isn’t my idea of fun
I have a granburg Alaskan and after using it a few times and the tips in here gonna bolt the bar straight to it instead of using clamps. Any tips for drilling through the bar?
I don’t want to kill trees unless there’s a good reason to so I’m mainly going to be milling dead oaks. (Live in central Texas. It’s about all we got that gets to defend diameter). Picture coming but chain dulled FAST without hitting anything. Does that seem normal? Stihl full chisel. first picture. Started milling from far end. Pretty smooth halfway through then really started fighting it. Should have pulled out and sharpened mid cut but what can I say...I don’t like pulling out
Last question let some teeth hit dirt, I know shame me, but it happened. Do I need to grind back until I get back to a full straight edge? Makes sense I need to. Just wanted to ask before discarding a significant fraction of the tooth.
Thanks all and happy milling

Attachments

• 0AF917F3-5AFD-4B06-95C8-7F039F34CE00.jpeg
    0AF917F3-5AFD-4B06-95C8-7F039F34CE00.jpeg
    4 MB · Views: 29
  • E61A667B-7B2A-4A21-B1C1-3786BCE2B15B.jpeg
    E61A667B-7B2A-4A21-B1C1-3786BCE2B15B.jpeg
    4.9 MB · Views: 27
  • FCE9F84F-D51B-4EC1-8FCB-71B3C475E6B7.jpeg
    FCE9F84F-D51B-4EC1-8FCB-71B3C475E6B7.jpeg
    4.8 MB · Views: 27
  • D0B04411-566F-4643-9CDD-1439DCDAB3F6.jpeg