Old Mcculloch's

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Josh N

Old soul, hard worker.
Reaction score
Hey guys, new here. I'm looking at a pair of saws for $100. Mcculloch mac 6 and Pro Mac 55. Say they need work but start. Good deal or not? Going to be bucking up firewood and farm/land clearing. Been looking for an old mcculloch. Currently have a power mac 310 PIA to fix. Am I asking for the same trouble?

https://m.facebook.com/marketplace/item/1949495208422485/

I have no experience with a Mac 6, but do have some 10 series saws including a pm55 I just got running. They are extremely easy to work on and lots of parts interchangeability between the various models.

The pm55 I have is a real nice running saw and cuts very well. I'm impressed with it.

Think it's worth $100 for both? I messaged seller and he says they sound like they want to start but not currently running.

Hey guys, new here. I'm looking at a pair of saws for $100. Mcculloch mac 6 and Pro Mac 55. Say they need work but start. Good deal or not? Going to be bucking up firewood and farm/land clearing. Been looking for an old mcculloch. Currently have a power mac 310 PIA to fix. Am I asking for the same trouble?

https://m.facebook.com/marketplace/item/1949495208422485/

Go buy them to PLAY with. (you will enjoy restoring and working on them, get's in your blood)
BUT:
If you need to actually get er dun type of work go buy yourself a good late model work saw and use the old vintage Mac's as a back-up to play with saws after you get enough firewood laid in.
(I'm not going to tell you which make of saw I recommend but I use mostly Stihl's and do my own saw repairs and sharpening)

All good made chainsaws will give good service life with just little bit of PROPER TLC from the operator.

I take my old Mac's to the woodlot, but they are not my immediate go to saws to get a pile of wood cut.:)