Opinions on this big tree?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sick or healthy?

• Looks healthy to me!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • The tree looks sick, but can be cured. (Please comment with details)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • The tree is dying and needs to be taken down.

Votes: 6 100.0%

• Total voters

Erinfuentes5214

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Forgive me for being totally clueless, but does this tree look sick? We have lived here a few years now and each year pine needles fall to the ground. I have never noticed how the tree progresses into winter but I recently read pines are supposed to be evergreen. Again, I have no knowledge of trees. Just want to make sure we are taking care of it as well as we can and if it is dying we can take care of that before someone gets hurt. Thank you!

Attachments

• D231484C-2C04-4B88-9169-812E8571E161.jpeg
    D231484C-2C04-4B88-9169-812E8571E161.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 82
Are there tiny little 1/8th inch holes everywhere on the trunk n scaffold branches?

Looks like a half dead Ips beetle kill pine to my eye.

Jomoco
Interesting, thank you! I just went out to check, no visible holes as far as I can tell and the bark isn't peeling like I read could happen.

Ips kills from the top down.

A good pair of binoculars will usually reveal the telltale pin holes n yellow dust frass trails up top.

Jomoco

Ips kills from the top down.

A good pair of binoculars will usually reveal the telltale pin holes n yellow dust frass trails up top.

Jomoco

Thank you! I've been looking for a good excuse to get a pair of binoculars. I'll take a look up top as soon as I can.
If it is the Ips beetles, there's nothing we can do, correct?

Thank you! I've been looking for a good excuse to get a pair of binoculars. I'll take a look up top as soon as I can.
If it is the Ips beetles, there's nothing we can do, correct?