Outdoor wood stoves

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

django

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Any of y'all have an outside woodstove? Also known as a wood fired boiler even though they dont boil. I am considering buying or building one and would like some pros/cons.
Thanx.

I have an aquaintance who has one. He burns anything in it and loads it with a loader. Big hunks of willow. Youll have all your buddies dumping wood at your place and telling them thast your gas bill was 20 bucks last month. Dryer and water heater.

I have a Heatmor outdoor boiler that I have been using for 5 yrs. now. When I laid down my cash, which is a sizeable amount for any of these, I had narrowed my choices to Heatmor and Central Boiler aka, Classic. I`ll tell you the reasons why I chose Heatmor over Classic and then the hard part, spending the money, is up to you. Heatmors are all stainless and built in unitized assemblys using components available at just about any HVAC supply house . For example the blower for induction is a Dayton part # available from Grainger`s, shipped to your house. The expansion bladder is an implement inner tube. The aquastats are off the shelf items. Just about any boiler anode will work. And you don`t need to add chemicals to the ash or the water to keep your warranty in effect. If you do ever have a loss of integrity(it leaks), the Heatmor is field serviceable by the dealer without voiding the warranty, and the major components can be removed in the field without use of a crane or special tools if they need major repairs or replacement. The Classic gets loaded on a flatbed at your expense, and there is an $800 transportation fee back to the plant where they determine if it is a legit warranty claim. The Classic has an electric damper mechanism that has to be ordered through an authorized dealer when it fails, no sweat as long as the dealer sta