Personal First Aid Kit

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XTROOPER

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I carry a fairly extensive First Aid Kit in the Kubota RTV 1100 I use to haul firewood. I have been thinking lately of carrying a small personal first aid kit on my belt. I am often far from the rig and assume many chain saw injuries would tend to be very serious. I am thinking something like Quick Clot and a tourniquet. Many tactical law enforcement officers are carrying small trauma kids on them to respond quickly to trauma like gunshot or knife wounds. What do you guys think? I know carrying extra weight on you is a pain, but I am a novice at this stuff and know of many pros over the years that have been seriously injured and worse. Any thoughts would be appreciated, good bunch of folks on this site with a great deal of knowledge.

Thanks.

XTROOPER

Last edited:
Forget the tourniquet, that is a no no. What you want to stop bleeding in a large wound is a large bandage and direct pressure. A tourniquet is used when nothing else will stop the bleeding as it often destroys more than it helps.

For chainsaw injuries that are bad, get yourself some womens maxi pads along with a few rolls of tape. Pull the tape end up and stick it back on itself just on the end so that in the case of an severe injury you can get ahold of the tape with one hand when you have the jitters.