• Please be aware that we have recently gotten a wave of users that, when researched, are found to be from Nigeria. They are trying to sell products and asking to be paid through Zelle or Venmo leaving users with no recourse if they don't ship the product. If you suspect this activity please contact admin and we will research their information to verify their location.

ArboristSite.com Sponsors
Peak Industries

Physics?

Mike PA

Mike PA

ArboristSite Guru
Not a logger, but I'm gonna reply anyway. Things roll downhill. Tough to stop a heavy log heading downhill. More dangerous. Just a thought.

Fronty Owner

Fronty Owner

ArboristSite Operative
I would say its safer to fall the trees down hill and like Mike said, its easier to stop something from rolling uphill than down hill...

TreePointer

TreePointer

Addicted to ArboristSite
I'm not a pro logger, either, but I've sent some to a mill. For me, it's all about control. Logs that roll down a hill and hit hard things can be damaged/splintered and even drag your equipment with them (yikes). Damaged logs = little/no money from the mill. Logs that you drag up a hill are in your control (for the most part).

Last edited:
Humptulips

Humptulips

ArboristSite Guru
I'm not a pro logger, either, but I've sent some to a mill. For me, it's all about control. Logs that roll down a hill and hit hard things can be damaged/splintered and even drag your equipment with them (yikes). Damaged logs = little/no money from the mill. Logs that you drag up a hill are in your control (for the most part).