• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Arborsist Site and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member which comes with a decal or just click here to donate.

Want to Trade Pole spikes for tree spikes

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AaulPnderson92

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have a pair of pole spikes that I want to trade for a pair of tree spikes, I'm new to climbing and I would really appreciate it, whenever I take a step into a tree with thick bark I'm constantly gaffing out with these pole spikes, please! Somebody help me!

If it’s full time gig I’d invest in a new set that’s more comfortable and will last you. With replaceable gaffs and almost all parts are replaceable as years down the road they wear. If you take care of them they will last a good amount of time even climbing 5-8 hours a day . Day in and day out

Honestly man do you plan on climbing a lot/ full time ? Or is it more weekend type stuff?
I plan on climbing full time, my goal is to be a certified climbing arborist, licensed, bonded and insured, so far I love it, it just feels right, when I'm not up in a tree I'm day dreaming about being up in a tree and how I can do it better next time if not that then I'm researching about arboriculture related content.

Agreed BUT in my opinion and I'm sure you'll agree there are times for both tree spikes and pole spikes, I just got my first pair of tree spikes and although there will definitely be a learning curve and an awkward stage I see alot more comfortable removals in my future (and alot less gaffing out).