porting chainsaws

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

husky 2100

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am working on some saws for lumberjack comp. and was wondering if anyone could give me some input on what degrees to port them on. I am currently porting the ex. to begin to open at 84 degrees atdc and the intake to close at 85. Im fairly new to all this and thats what I was told worked best.

Howdy Husky 2100,

Does that monicker mean you have the shakes? I remember that saw model as one you could fire up, set down, and it would beat you back to camp!

Regards,
Walt Galer

a 285 piston and jug will bolt right in.I even have a 2100 with the 258 parts on it.
Later
Dan

Husky 2100 porting

Hello Husky 2100,
Excellent 6 cube saw to modify. Their getting a little hard to find anymore. If you didn't cut the top off the barrel and build a head thats too much exhaust. with the stock head it has a 11.5 cc combustion chamber volume. you need to build a cylinder head with around 6-7 cc combustion chamber volume . you'll then have a 9.5 corrected compression ratio. stock it has just under 6-1 corrected compression ratio. Included a picture of a modified 272 husky barrel. we've changed the transfer duration and shape and added a boost port for more transfer flow

Ken Dunn [email protected]

The boost port is the dogleg from the transfer port?
How deep is that, and how much does it help?

Harley

boost port

Hi Harley
The transfer ports on a chainsaw motor are way to small in area. the boost port s bring the transfer port area up to normal 2 stroke transfer area. makes more power. the newer huskys went to a quad port design,372's,385',s . they really flow more than the older design . a 372 just walks all over a 272 and the power increase is all in the transfer port design
ken