Welcome to ArboristSite.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the ArboristSite community.

ArboristSite.com Sponsors

1. Please see this post Click Here Please ask questions if you have them!! I hope this is going to be great for us all.
    Dismiss Notice

Proper crab apple tree pruning

Discussion in 'Picture Forum' started by Debra Handy, Feb 20, 2018.

1. Debra Handy

Debra Handy ArboristSite Lurker

I am very concerned our flowering crab apple tree was pruned to much. Can you advise? I am not good with technology please forgive meif I have posted this incorrectly. Thank you. Photos attached.

Attached Files:

2. c5rulz

c5rulz Addicted to ArboristSite

I am pretty familiar with apple trees. The pruning job is OK but I would take out ALL branches that are growing straight up. You want to encourage horizontal branching rather than vertical. Keep in mind every heading cut will create 3 more shoots. When you get the appearance of the vigorous vertical shoots in June that are growing straight up, just pull them off when they are green.

This is 2 of the 7 rows of apple trees I have:

[​IMG]

3. Debra Handy

This would be the same for a flowering crab apple? I think your advice is great. Thank You! I love this tree we have and proper pruning is essential. I was so scared we cut back to much. Again, many thanks.

c5rulz likes this.
  4. c5rulz

Actually I am getting away from heading branches if it is possible. Pruning actually invigorates the tree and makes it grow more and that is not actually a good thing. In a nutshell pruning is like fertilizing.

Here are some pics of pruned trees.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. Debra Handy