Question about poison oak/ivy/sumac

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Diesel JD

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Hey I'm just wondering what you recreational climbers and pro arborists due to mamage the risk of poison ivy while climbing. This is probably one of the main reasons I am not a climber professionally. I'm pretty allergic to the stuff. Any ideas are good,
J.D.

1st know what it looks like and if at all possible just stay away from it.
If that's not an option I've had fairly good results with "Ivy Block" prior to working in ivy and then washing with "Tecnu" afterwards. Tecnu has a chemical that attaches and washes away the poison ivy irritant (urushiol).
If the weather is cool enough wear long sleeves & gloves. Also don't wash your contaminates clothes with anything else.

Good additional info: www.poisonivy.us

Great facts buddy, I'll look into it. It's true that ID is most critical. Heck I've always gotten it when I failed to make a correct identification. Most recently helping a friend with a fell tree behind the club house pool in the winter time. It was a Nissa, a local swamp dweller with lots of vines, being winter...all the leaves were gone. I was suspicious it might be poison, but thought naah, probably just grapes or virginia creeper. I thought wrong and paid for it.

Diesel,

I'll share my personal experience with poison ivy. I have a moderate reaction to it. I climbed an Ash last November that had "dead" poison ivy vines. In case a reader isn't aware, the poison ivy vine is hairy. Three leaves in the summer and hairy vines in the winter are the respective alerts.