Quick question(s) before I pull the trigger on a DHT 25 ton splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Husky Joe

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey, quick question(s) before I pull the trigger on a DHT 25 ton splitter. I’ve been cutting and splitting 4-5 cords a year for the last 11 years. I enjoy the exercise but I also have a gym in the basement, bicycles, and I run at least twice a week so I’m not doing it for the exercise. As I scramble to complete my woodpile, it finally occurred to me that I spend one hell of a lot of time swinging the maul and sledgehammer. I am looking for a timesaver and I think I have a system worked out where I would do the splitting right at the shed. I have my own woods.

Reviews on the DHT 25 ton splitter look pretty good and I was reluctant to buy anything with moving parts from Lowes, but the price is hard to pass on. I think they probably run around $999, but they are advertising them as being on sale through tomorrow for $999. Regular price is supposedly $1099 but I haven’t been looking long enough to know what the regular price really is. If I apply for a Lowe’s credit card, they will knock another 10% off, so it’s hard to pass on something I know I’m going to buy by spring anyway, at a cost of $899. They will finance it for 0% interest for up to 18 months on the $999, but no 10% discount.

Assuming I make a commitment tomorrow, I would also need a log catcher---or tow?. They are not included and I think they run around $79.00. Do you need one log catcher or two? Looks like it would save a lot of bending over but with only one, but don’t they fall off the other side?

For those who have one of these splitters, any reservations? Is the quality of the Kohler engine decent? Got enough power?

Thanks for any help!