ArboristSite.com Sponsors

Rebuilding a Eeger Beever Model 290 Chipper

Discussion in 'Arborist 101' started by HoneyBadger, Apr 16, 2014.

1. HoneyBadger

HoneyBadger New Member

New member to the forum although I have been using it as a reference for a couple years. Looking to buy instead of rent a HD Chipper to maintain a few acres of forest land the wife and I plan on retiring on.

Short story I found an old model 290 chipper made by Beever, Inc. (pre-Morbark? no clue of year built) with a trashed JD diesel engine I am considering rebuilding if I can get for a good price. Condition is fair but since the engine won't turn I have no way to check operations although the owner said it worked fine for him for a few hours before the engine seized. I am figuring $4000 for the engine, $1000 for the hydraulics and $1000 bearings, paint and misc. parts.

Is this model worth the investment? Parts still available? My thought is I would have a basically zero-hour machine for what I could buy a 2000+ used one. My biggest problem is I have more ideas for projects than time to get them finished. Your thoughts appreciated!

2. Eq Broker

Eq Broker GlobalEquip

I really don't think it would be worth the investment. You should be able to buy one that's running for around $6k. The parts are still available from Morbark. If the crankshaft is broken, you'll be looking at a lot more money than $4,000 for an engine rebuild. What happens if there is a crack in the block or head? You'll then need to locate another engine or buy a reman or new. I wouldn't want to go through all of the headaches.

This is only my opinion.

Dave
    Global Equipment Exporters

3. 2treeornot2tree

2treeornot2tree Dont cry, just do it