Residental tree company wanting to do line clearance

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kevin davis tree inc

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I've been doing tree work for 11 years I started when I was 18 opened my own biz on July 5 2010 I've came a long way ins workers comp 2 60ft lifts dump trucks chippers skid steers grinders city contracts billboard contracts and doing about $500,000 a year with one crew and I want to get in to line clearance any guidance would be great

Chances are you won't be able to compete. We have a large municipal contractor in my area that bids so low most guys with a saw and a pickup can't beat the price. Volume, volume, volume is what keeps utility contractors in business.

+1 on the EHAP if you do decide to go down that road. I recommend CTSP as well. Keep in mind that majority of fatalities are electrical hazard related.

Good luck learning how to bid those contracts. Attempting to do that outta the blue, with no experience, is going to be quite the magic trick. I'd stick with the residential stuff since you seem to be doing that successfully already.

Good luck learning how to bid those contracts. Attempting to do that outta the blue, with no experience, is going to be quite the magic trick. I'd stick with the residential stuff since you seem to be doing that successfully already.
Line clearance is where I started in the biz at I'm one of the few that has converted to residental tree care and can do it I've found finding good employees are harder to find in residental tree care the line clearance those employees come dime a dozen the ones that can rope climb and trim back to natural laterals and use all the advance climbing tech are hard to find in my area the ones that know it's not a 9-5 job it's a get er done job