River birch pruning

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the2pvs

Reaction score
River birch trimming?

I have 6 river birches in my back yard ranging from 7 to about 10ft. I'm a complete novice to pruning/trimming. Some have brances from the ground up, two of which have the smaller trees with them. Two seem to have not grown leaves on the top approx. 1.5 ft., one of which lost leaves on close branches near top. These two don't have brances low, but have some odd long ones out of the side. They were planted fall of '99 and I live in what is called the "sandhills" of SC. How should I go about pruning them or should I? Pat:)

Last edited:
Pat,
It sounds like you have a lot going on. First, understand why do you want to prune. Is it to remove dead branches, correct structural problems, remove diseased wood? You can dead wood your trees any time.
Second, read up on the science and art of pruning to get the techincal parts, where to prune and how.
Then check with your local extension office for the best time in your area to prune birch. You don't want to prune when birch borers are active.

Best time to prune these river birches is in the winter when they are dormant and all the leaves wont be in your way to see what you are pruning.

Having never dealt with River Birches in particular, I can only assume that they react the same way as other birches, which is they bleed if pruned in their dormant period. When the sap starts flowing in the spring you may have a BIG problem on your hands. I would check a local nursery to be sure.

Alan

I wish I had room to let some trees grow with branches growing from the ground up , looks great and natural I think. i wouldn't prune anything except crossing/rubbing branches or side shoots that might be starting to compete with the leaders.