Rock climbing VS. Tree climbing saddles?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fallguy1960

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
What is the difference between the saddles that rock climbers use verus the saddles that are sold for tree climbing? It seems that price is one thing. I am new to this tree climbing stuff. I have worked construction for 30 years and I'm familar with fall protection equipment. Are the tree climbing harnesses built with heavier materials because they are caring a load most of the time?

What is the difference between the saddles that rock climbers use verus the saddles that are sold for tree climbing? It seems that price is one thing. I am new to this tree climbing stuff. I have worked construction for 30 years and I'm familar with fall protection equipment. Are the tree climbing harnesses built with heavier materials because they are caring a load most of the time?

Correct, rock saddles are to catch you if you fall, in roped tree climbing your weight is on the rope and harness majority of the time in the tree. Go to an outdoor gear store and try hanging in a rock harness with your feet off the ground for 2 minutes and then imagine doing that for anywhere from 3-10 hours daily. Quality tree harnesses cost more because there's more to them.
-moss

not sure it would help me if I were the one asking the question.

as a newbie myself, I've climbed in a wild country sport harness on a few occasions. It happens to have provision to add side D rings but I havent climbed with a lanyard yet, purely DRT with a second tie in once in the tree.

yes you can do it, but let me tell you, my wild country ziplock synchro elite thingy has a wide back strap as far as sport harnesses go, but it is far from comfortable when sitting back in it when body thrusting up the trunk.