Sachs Dolmar Chainsaws Thread

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
One day I’ll get a portable mill I hope. Thank you for the parts manual. I printed that. The parts seem hard to come by now. Do you do wood work for a living? Im a welder by trade. This is my new found hobby. Running saws and milling.
I worked the woods a goodly part of my life but am about aged out for that hard physical job, building houses is easier these days, more of an interior finish installer now. The parts for SD saws are running low for most but with some searching they can be found.

I worked the woods a goodly part of my life but am about aged out for that hard physical job, building houses is easier these days, more of an interior finish installer now. The parts for SD saws are running low for most but with some searching they can be found.
I have heard of people getting them from Germany. I’m not sure how that works. I’m in the USA. The min reason I started all this as because I was milling and I think it over heated and melted the spark plug cap and actually caught fire for a few seconds. I got it put out fast. The only visible damage was the plug cap of course and the pull rope burnt at the handle. I have fixed both of them and I figured I would do a bunch of research and learning while I was cleaning and putting back together. I hope it’s no internal damage.

I have seen parts come in from Germany as well as long as the seller there will ship, not difficult. Your saw does look a bit blackened, lets hope the overheat situation did no internal damage, heat is a two stroke nemesis, get it clean and keep it clean is a good practice for chainsaws.