Safely taking down a 28" ash

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrew Clarke

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi there. I have a fairly large ash tree I want to take down before it's destroyed by emerald ash borers. It sucks but if I'm lucky I can still use the lumber for a floor.

I've been using chainsaws for a couple decades but I've never taken down a tree this big on my own. I have a Husqvarna 545 with a 15" bar, since most of my cutting is a lot smaller than this. The internet tells me the largest bar recommended for my saw is 20".

So, what's the safest way for me to do this myself? It's fairly straight but of course is a large tree with lots of branches going in every direction. I've read that ash has a tendency to barber and I want to avoid that both for my own safety and due to the fact that I want the lumber. I've read about plunge cutting technique and watched videos on it but I've never tried it.

Right now my plans is:
- Ask here for ideas
- Maybe/probably get a 20" bar and chain for my saw
- Strap the tree to help keep it from barber chairing
- Use some sort of plunge cut technique to cut it down.

If anyone has any pointers for me, I'd very much appreciate them. Thanks!

FYI eab does not ruin the logs for use as lumber.... so if u like your tree and it's alive you can keep it until it shows signs of eab.

Do you have a pic of the tree? We can give you all kinds of advice but it all may be poor advice if we have no idea what we are working with...

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

Thanks. I'd been told it would ruin the lumber and just took that at face value. I've been reading today that it only destroys the outside under the bark, confirming what you've said. Next time I'm out I'll take a photo of the tree. It's in a bush so it's not particularly photogenic.