Script for contacting tree owners for verification of old records

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Paul Sanborn

Above average climber
Reaction score
This weekend I got Pckage of nomination forms from Ian at the DNR to verify and remeasure several old trees.

Some are on public land, but most are in yards or on church grounds.

I did internet searches on for owners of ther properties, but the homes are all unlisted. I got numbers for the churches though.

Here is what I plan on saying when I call;

My name is John Sanborn, and I'm a volunteer Big Tree Inspector for the state DNR. I own a tree service that operates in the MKE metro area.

A tree that is, or was, on your property is on the big tree list for it's species.

I only need access to the tree, to verify that it still stands, make some measurments and evaluate it's current condition.

Do you agree to allow access to the tree?

Do you agree to allow the nomination of this tree as a state big tree as it was in the past?

May I have oyur name (and position if not a private property?)

If you have any questions you can contact the WI-DNR. My contact with them is Ian Brown, 608-264-8852.

Comments anyone?

I might mail something simmilar to people who have unlisted numbers if i cannot get to the tree. Some of them have been on the list long enough that there may have been 2 owners since last measured.

Big Tree contact

JPS,

I believe there has been a heightened awareness of trees with stature and size; your letter would be an appropriate way to "break-the-ice" in attempting to initiate communication and tree verification.

It will take concerted efforts from someone like yourself to allow the masses to gain access to seeing these big trees, even if from a distance.

Keep us posted on the acceptance of the letters.

introductions

John,