Seeking chain recommendations

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PBWilson

Reaction score
I'm just getting into milling and have read a great deal of information on this site. Excellent stuff that will steer me clear of a bunch of potential pitfalls. I'm looking for advice and recommendations for milling chains.

I've got an Echo CS-7310P saw (73.5cc, 28" bar and a longer 36" bar for milling wider stuff). I'm waiting for my Granberg milling chains to arrive in the mail, but wondered about other chain choices.

My Echo dealer said that the 36" bar is a bit long for the saw (Echo recommends a 32" bar max) but reported from Echo that if I were to use the 36" bar, they recommend I use a skip-tooth chain. I believe that the Granberg chain with the scoring cutters should tax the saw less than a full comp setup and have read the same reports. I can source skip-tooth chain (Oregon 73EJX) but it isn't ground for ripping. I understand that it might leave a bit rougher surface (no big deal) and I can file it at a different angle over time. Nobody seems to make a skip-tooth chain with a 10 degree cutter.

Does anyone have thoughts as to which chain will be better in the long haul? Granberg Ripping or Oregon Skip-Tooth? Are there other chains that you would recommend? (Full chisel, semi-chisel, something else?) I'm not looking to set speed records and I'll be sawing a mix of northeastern hardwoods (cherry, walnut, red maple, ash, locust...).

Thanks in advance for your help.

Full skip will be your friend. Not poking fun, or being an arse, but your saw is a good bit light in the pants for what your asking of it. Milling is the most demanding application you can do with a chain saw. I personally think you'll be ok with the 28" the 36" you'll be working the dog out of the saw, even with full skip.