Semi-permanent TIP

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aragorn

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm interested in thoughts on leaving a TIP in place for several months during deer season to hunt from using my New Tribe saddle. I've been climbing for 4 years primarily doing tree work on my own property. Started out Ddrt with Blakes closed system. Now climb Ddrt open on micro pulley/VT and have been working on SRT with an ascender, micro/VT, descending on VT/Munter combination. My lanyard is micro pulley attended with Knut knot.
I know once I ascend a tree I've selected to hunt from I can leave a throw line in place and use it to reset my rope when I return. I would probably SRT to the TIP for speed/efficiency using a Yosemite bowline, do lanyard change over to Ddrt to "hang out" and for descent. What I'd really like to do is set a TIP with double wrapped water knotted tubular wedding and a link. This would give me more flexibility on where I place the TIP so I can orient my location on the preferred side of a tree and not be dependent on a specific limb location, also to reduce friction and noise, which would occur if I were to set a friction saver. My fear is if I leave this in place, I have no way of knowing the condition of the TIP prior to ascent. It has occurred to me that while remote, suppose a squirrel, attracted to salt (or whatever) from my hands, were to chew through the webbing between my visits? Bad news.
I guess chain or wire cable are a possibility? I don't tend to think of alternative materials I suppose because they are static so I haven't got an appreciation of their riskiness in a fall event.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.