Sharpening Stihl RS with round file

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Firemoore98

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Gentlemen and ladies,

I purchased 3 brand new chains on eBay that are 3/8 .050 20" RS full chisel. I do not have them yet in my possession they are in transit, but I think I might have made a bo bo. I'm a rookie sharpener and use a timberline sharpener for all my needs.

Can a RS full chisel chain be sharpened with a round file? Or do I have to use a square file to get any performance out of this chain.

If they can't be sharpened with a round file I will sell three brand new chains for $65 shipped.

I already ordered a pair of 3/8 .050 RM chains for my general firewood cutting needs.

Sorry if this is a duplicate post I did several searches on this and other forums and couldn't find the exact answer.

Thanks

Jason

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gentlemen and ladies,

I purchased 3 brand new chains on eBay that are 3/8 .050 20" RS full chisel. I do not have them yet in my possession they are in transit, but I think I might have made a bo bo. I'm a rookie sharpener and use a timberline sharpener for all my needs.

Can a RS full chisel chain be sharpened with a round file? Or do I have to use a square file to get any performance out of this chain.

If they can't be sharpened with a round file I will sell three brand new chains for $65 shipped.

I already ordered a pair of 3/8 .050 RM chains for my general firewood cutting needs.

Sorry if this is a duplicate post I did several searches on this and other forums and couldn't find the exact answer.

Thanks

Jason

Jason, should be no problem but much easier to convert with a grinder. By hand will take a while. Using the timberline will likely take longer.

Ron