Should I start a business????

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swyman

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Here's my story as short as I can do it... I have had a welding/fab shop as a side business but recently let go from my full time job. I do not want to go back to a factory and want to try and make it on my own. My fab shop does not currently bring in enough to make it but I will have a yellow page add starting in Jan. I still don't believe that I will get enough work to use as sole means of income. I have an central boiler and it likes wood. Now I have access to my grandma's woods for firewood that is 1 mile away. I believe that someday I will nothave access to it and then how will I get wood??? I have been tossing the idea around for a couple years about starting a tree service but was scared to pull the trigger. I have a new 200T, MS460 with 20" and 32" bars, Bobcat 873 with forks to pickup logs, a 30' gooseneck trailer to haul logs away and right now could use to remove brush from trees that I take down. I am looking into buying a bucket/chipper truck but not getting a chipper till I could make some money as I feel this would get me started the quickest and most labor efficient. Have checked on insurance and is reasonable. I think if I had a yellow page add for both businesses that I should be able to stay busy and make a living and get my firewood. Was also thinking of taking an arborist class at a local community college to learn more about trees. The only thing that I am nervous about is finding help. How do you find someone to help???? I have high hopes that a tree service would be a great business to get into and with my equipment I think I could be efficient and would only need 1 maybe 2 people to help. I have checked on renting a stump grinder so I could also provide that service if required. I still have a few weeks to decide as the ye