Small chipper for my business

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

john Kawamoto jr

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi everyone im kinda new to the business as far as chippers go im looking for something for my small landscaping / tree trimming business. Ive narrowed it down to chippers the7 inch boxer x7 coming in at $16,500 plus shipping and the 6 inch bear ch6627h coming in at $14,899 plus tax. Anyone with experience with these chippers? Looking for some input other then the specs i see and couple of videos from youtube. Thank you.

No experience with those 2 specific models. I did buy a used Bear Cat 74824 in 2011 which has been relatively trouble free. It did need to have ignition components replaced 4 years ago and the fuel shutoff solenoid got "sticky" last spring (relatively easy fix), but otherwise has been a champ for us. It is nominally an 8" chipper but realistically the max is 4-5" and then you have to baby it through or the engine dies. When that happens, you generally have to open the chute and remove the load of chips that didn't get ejected before you can restart - really messes with your workflow. Better to chip slowly and keep revs up.
The other things we love about it are that it can be rotated on a turntable so the throat can always face the work pile and the unit is light enough to be towed up some pretty steep hills by our 1946 Willys Jeep (original 60hp flathead engine)

If I were in the small chipper market I'd look at a lightly used bandit 65. Or fork up just a bit more and get a bandit 90. If you're really on a budget a Chuck and duck will outrun all the smaller chippers with relatively low weight and maintenance