• Please be aware that we have recently gotten a wave of users that, when researched, are found to be from Nigeria. They are trying to sell products and asking to be paid through Zelle or Venmo leaving users with no recourse if they don't ship the product. If you suspect this activity please contact admin and we will research their information to verify their location.

ArboristSite.com Sponsors
Peak Industries


Splitter problems

Pglizerd

Pglizerd

ArboristSite Lurker
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
18
Age
58
Location
Missouri
20191104_134833_Film3.jpg Hello new here i Have a Brave it says Big Brave on Cylinder i traded for and i am having some problems i hope some one will know where to steer me when you frist start splitting it dose ok but after about 10 minutes it will stops splitting wood 16 -18 inches in diameter it will go up to log and barley leave a wedge mark on the wood i have changed hoses and put new fluid in but still no change I'm thinking of rebuilding it since i already have a investment in it need some info on pump size to use and cylinder size at the Moment it has a 6.5 hp predator engine i dont know what size pump is at the Moment but any help would be great. And if anyone could tell me what ton this unit maybe i have looked ever where on Cylinder but no info on it it just says Big Brave i have some pics of it 20191104_134833_Film3.jpg 20191104_134833_Film3.jpg Thank you
 

Attachments

motorhead99999

motorhead99999

Jeepin tree man
Joined
Oct 2, 2019
Messages
651
Age
27
Location
Sharon springs ny
Maybe a screen in the tank outlet? It is probaly cheaper to buy a new pump than rebuild it. I bought a 28 gpm two stage pump a valve and a mount bracket and coupler for a 16 ho Honda for 100 dollars as a kit on eBay
 
rancher2

rancher2

ArboristSite Guru
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
825
Location
malcoln NE
Pglizerd Welcome to the forum.
It wouldn't hurt to install a T and a gauge on the inlet of the control valve so you could trouble shoot the system. It may be the pump but it could be the cylinder or the control valve bypassing oil after its warmed up. If you do need a pump look at surplus center Lincoln Ne they have pumps and they pump finder says your 6.5 engine will run a 13 GPM pump your old one is probably a 11 GPM pump. The 13 would give you a little more speed.
 
Pglizerd

Pglizerd

ArboristSite Lurker
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
18
Age
58
Location
Missouri
Pglizerd Welcome to the forum.
It wouldn't hurt to install a T and a gauge on the inlet of the control valve so you could trouble shoot the system. It may be the pump but it could be the cylinder or the control valve bypassing oil after its warmed up. If you do need a pump look at surplus center Lincoln Ne they have pumps and they pump finder says your 6.5 engine will run a 13 GPM pump your old one is probably a 11 GPM pump. The 13 would give you a little more speed.
Ok i will add that tee and gauge will the 13gpm give it more push power will i need to change the hydraulic tank ?
 
VirginiaIron

VirginiaIron

ArboristSite Operative
Joined
Mar 27, 2018
Messages
235
Location
Central Virginia
Are the couplings tight on both shafts, engine and pump?

Is the pump whining or making any loud unusual noise when this starts to happen?

Also, you can hold the spool lever for a little while to see if it gets warm which would indicate flow is bypssing the piston circuit. Or, If the hoses to the piston, and the piston get warm then it might be bypassing in the piston.

Does the hydraulic spool make a noise (pressure release/bypass) when you retract the piston fully?
 
kevin j

kevin j

Addicted to ArboristSite
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
2,280
Location
Minnesota
all good suggestions, but everything is a ‘could be’ situation. Before throwing parts and money at it get the pressure gauge installed. Ideally a flowmeter also installed but at least start with the pressure gauge.
 
alleyyooper

alleyyooper

Addicted to ArboristSite
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
2,423
Location
Michigan
Mine started do just that. It how ever was home built with A viking 2 stage pump.
turned out the pump had a broken gear in it and the shop I took it to couldn't get the parts .
Sold me a new pump (Memory at the moment is eldery and shot on brand) it works but not at the force of the old viking pump.

:D Al
 
sundance

sundance

ArboristSite Guru
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
675
Location
SW PA
Mine started do just that. It how ever was home built with A viking 2 stage pump.
turned out the pump had a broken gear in it and the shop I took it to couldn't get the parts .
Sold me a new pump (Memory at the moment is eldery and shot on brand) it works but not at the force of the old viking pump.

:D Al
Still getting the same pressure? Perhaps the pressure needs to be set up a bit higher?
 
VirginiaIron

VirginiaIron

ArboristSite Operative
Joined
Mar 27, 2018
Messages
235
Location
Central Virginia
all good suggestions, but everything is a ‘could be’ situation. Before throwing parts and money at it get the pressure gauge installed. Ideally a flowmeter also installed but at least start with the pressure gauge.
True- but installing a gage is nothing but throwing money and parts at it if your basics aren't covered: couplings aren't turning, engine isn't running, no fluid, etc.
 
Top