Stihl 026 Starting Problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamie101

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi, I have been stripping saws and rebuilding them for a few years now, usually 08s and the 021 023 025 range and selling them through the local paper. I was given a 026 in px just after christmas and the guy said it would not start, it took me about 30 pulls to get it going, then once warm it would start first pull every time. next day it did exactly the same 30 pulls then ran all day. I decided to strip it and rebuild, all inpulse hose, fuel line, inlet manifold look fine, piston and cylinder are in great shape, re-built it with new gasket set, and new crank seals. Now fully rebuilt and my hopes high filled with petrol and low and behold the same thing 20 pulls to get it going. I am used to 2 pulls on full choke than 1 pull on half choke and the saw is running. Does any one have any ideas as i am knocking on a bit and the arms cant take it any more.

Hi, I have been stripping saws and rebuilding them for a few years now, usually 08s and the 021 023 025 range and selling them through the local paper. I was given a 026 in px just after christmas and the guy said it would not start, it took me about 30 pulls to get it going, then once warm it would start first pull every time. next day it did exactly the same 30 pulls then ran all day. I decided to strip it and rebuild, all inpulse hose, fuel line, inlet manifold look fine, piston and cylinder are in great shape, re-built it with new gasket set, and new crank seals. Now fully rebuilt and my hopes high filled with petrol and low and behold the same thing 20 pulls to get it going. I am used to 2 pulls on full choke than 1 pull on half choke and the saw is running. Does any one have any ideas as i am knocking on a bit and the arms cant take it any more.