Stihl 038AV

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rubicon

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. Someone gave me two busted Stihl 038AV saws and I'm planning on building one good saw out of the two busted ones. I have absolutely no experience with Stihl saws and I'm wondering if anyone has any info about it. I'd like to know cc's, wether this is a homeowners or commercial saw, potential problems and performance. Like I said, I have no experience with Stihl's as I have only owned Husky's over the years. By the way, what does the AV stand for? Thanks guys.

Most stihl saws with an ending in an even number are professional. The AV stands for anti-vibe. The 044 outdated the 038 but the 038 is an excellent saw. Its 38cc. Dont know many potential problems.

The are great saws. They come from the same era as the 028 that was 50 + cc (have one 028 yet, its a '79 model and has done mucho worko). My father-in-law was given one for his retirement, and I really liked to use it. A thief liberated it last spring, along with about $10,000 worth of other stuff. Me thinks the displacement is about 62cc. I looked for my older sales propeganda, but I couldn't quickly come up with it.

1985 Intertec manual sez- 48mm bore and 34mm stroke gets you 61cc. (about the most useful info in the book-nothing like a Stihl manual)

038 is a great saw. mostly made in Germany later in Brazil.
Illegal in Calif. for last few yrs.To much polution!!!Anyways great saw.Great torque strong saw.