Stihl MS 310 vs. MS 290

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

51stovebolt

Reaction score
I'm new around here though I have been reading old posts for a few days now. It seems that million dollar question/discussion on this forum is "which saw is best" for each specified type of use. I kind of get the idea that it is similar to the Ford vs. Chevy debate.

I'll not open the whole can of worms, but limit my questioning to the Stihl 310 vs 290. From what I see, the two saws are pretty well identical with the exception of 0.2 HP and $30, as well as standard bar/chain offering. My inclination is to pay an extra $30 for the HP gain and longer bar/more aggressive chain. Certainly I'm no pro, just an homeowner firewood cutter, but the upgrade seems like a no brainer to me, particularly with no additional weight. Have I missed something?

Curious,
Will

The saws are identical in construction with the exception that the 310 has a larger piston and cylinder. The next saw up, the MS390, is also the same but for more displacement.

The choice is yours, not a whole lot of difference between the two. If it were me, I'd get the 290 and muffler mod it.

In

A friends old man just bought a 310 after having a 290 for a few years, I asked him if he liked the 310 better than the 290 jokingly and he answered seriously that it did have a little more grunt he said it didn't bog down as much it pulled better in the wood. I used to have a 310 and sorta miss it, I thought it was a okay saw though I never ran a 290.